Paleo, Vegan, Gluten-Free, Dukan or Pescetarian?

CHOICES, CHOICES, CHOICES!

Did I miss any?  Wow, so we have so many choices when it comes to a way of eating.  Now, I know that I am probably jumping into a proverbial boxing ring here, but I really just want to talk about the different choices out there for us all to choose from.  I saw a post the other day of a person asking such a very simple question.  And it was this.  “How do I start eating healthy?”  The answer just isn’t so simple.  There are so many ways to go about it.  So, while I posted a couple healthful options for the meals throughout the day in my last blog, I got to thinking that I really only represented the pescetarian way of eating.  Truth be told, I can honestly say I have tried and followed all the above plus a few not listed, to include but not limited to Sommersizing, Jenny Craig, Atkins, and Weight Watchers.  I feel like I have tried it all.

Ya know, I don’t think there is any one answer!  Surprise.  Did ya think I would say that?  This is what I think.  I think that every person is different.  What works for one person won’t necessarily work for the next person.  What works one time in a person’s life might not even work later in the same person’s life.  You hear people who are devout in how they believe everybody should eat, but in the same token you hear of raw vegans who are no longer so because it just doesn’t work any longer at that point in their lives.  Right now, the pescetarian way of eating may make me feel the best now, but that doesn’t mean I didn’t do well on Jenny Craig, Dukan, Weight Watchers, Raw Vegan, or Sommersizing.  I don’t even know that Pescetarian is where I will stay.  One might even call me out right here and say that in their definition of what “working” is that Pescetarian isn’t working for me.  One might argue that not losing weight in 10 months isn’t “working”.  LOL.  However, I judge what is working by how I feel, and right now I feel fabulous.  I know that I haven’t lost any weight on that square thing that I really believe we should all throw away, but I know I am on the right track, and I know I am closing in on the answer with hormones and adrenal fatigue and sleep patterns and metabolism.  It is all connected, and I couldn’t be more thrilled to finally be finding some answers.

That all aside, this is what I want to say.  This was my thought that led me to post here tonight.   . . . If we were to fill a picnic table with food from each type of program or way of eating, I think we would all be pleasantly surprised how much of each food that all the different programs would actually enjoy of each.  So, while everybody is arguing for one way or another, in all actuality they could get along quite well and actually share quite a few recipes if they would just give each other a chance.  Case in point, fish prepared paleo would be enjoyed by a person Sommersizing, on Weight Watchers, on Jenny Craig, or by a pescetarian.  A side dish prepared by someone vegan full of veggies would be enjoyed by everybody else.  A dessert prepared by somebody Paleo would more than likely be allowed by all as well.  I have found so many recipes from a Paleo site that work for Vegan or Pescetarian and visa versa.  What a fun challenge it would be to prepare such said picnic!

WOULD YOU JOIN ME AT MY PICNIC TABLE??

Menu: Baked salmon with asparagus, salad, fruit, paleo banana bread, raw vegan dessert, vegan mexican pumpkin soup, organic chicken breasts sliced for either salad or the soup, curry soup, vegan stuffed Portobello mushrooms, Southwestern quinoa, juiced pink lemonade, avocado sandwich on gluten-free bread.  Do you think you could fill your plate?

BOTTOM LINE

So, running through all of these programs are fruits and veggies!  So, in answer to that question to the one person who asked the question of “How do I start to eat healthy?”, I go back to my philosophy of the previous blog post by suggesting to them to crowd in the fruits and veggies!  Whether it is fresh fruit in a bowl or a blended green smoothie, add that fruit.  And, hit the web and take your pick of all the wonderful recipes that include veggies.  You can snack on raw veggies, you can steam your veggies, you can blend your veggies, or you can bake your veggies.  Crowd them both in and you will have less room for the things that are less healthful, like say . . . umm anything out of a box.  I guess my answer is that it doesn’t matter whether you decide to eat a whole chicken with your veggies or your veggies alone or if you decide to make your veggies with olive oil or with veggie stock.  Just get them in and then you can work on what comes next.  Because here comes something I heard from Dr. Libby on an awesome call (which I will discuss at another post).  She said that most people have a real problem with accepting that they need to eat less of something or give up something, but they have no problem eating MORE of something!  So, eat more fruits and veggies.  :o)

I realize that this post sounded a lot like the one before.  I am so new to this, so hope you can walk this road with me.  Thanks so much for being here with me!

Leave a comment